RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |

AG Kilmartin to Offer Background Check Services to School Employees at Several Locations Throughout Rhode Island

In addition to the regular hours of operation for the Bureau of Criminal Identification at the Office of Attorney General in Providence (Monday - Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm), the Office will provide national and state criminal background check services at the locations, dates and times below.

Tuesday, August 5
2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Middletown Police Department
123 Valley Road, Middletown

Wednesday, August 6
2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Cranston Police Department
5 Garfield Avenue, Cranston

Tuesday, August 12
2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Charlestown Police Department
4901 Old Post Road, Charlestown

Wednesday, August 13
2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
North Kingstown Police Department
8166 Post Road, North Kingstown

Tuesday, August 19
2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Smithfield Police Department
215 Pleasant Avenue, Smithfield

Wednesday, August 20
2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Pawtucket Police Department
121 Roosevelt Avenue, Pawtucket

Thursday, August 21
2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Bristol Police Department
395 Metacom Avenue, Bristol

To assist teachers, school employees and volunteers in obtaining the required criminal background checks mandated by Rhode Island General Law, Attorney General Peter F. Kilmartin is again offering background check services at several locations throughout the state.

Under Rhode Island General Law 16-2-18.1, any person seeking employment with a private school or public school department who has not previously been employed by that public or private school department in Rhode Island during the past 12 months shall undergo a national and state criminal background check. Employees hired prior to August 1, 2001 and who have been continuously employed by a public school department in Rhode Island during the past 12 months shall be exempted.

As of July 2, 2014, employment now includes those individuals who are hired directly by the private school or public school department, contractual employees of the private school or public school department, and those individuals, who may have direct or unmonitored contact with children or students, that are hired by a third party who has contracted with the private school or public school department to provide services, including school bus monitors.

In addition, Rhode Island General Law, 16-2-18.4, any person who is a current or prospective volunteer of a private school or public school department and who may have direct and unmonitored contact with children and/or students on school premises shall undergo a state criminal background check to be initiated prior to or within one week of commencement of such volunteer work. Under the statute, the state criminal background check is valid for one year.

Individuals seeking a national background check must bring positive proof of ID, such as a valid driver’s license, state-issued ID or passport, as well as a letter of conditional employment. Payment must be a check or money order only. Checks should be made out to “BCI.” The cost for a national criminal background check is $35.

Individuals seeking a state criminal background check must bring positive proof of ID, such as a valid driver’s license, state-issued ID or passport. The cost for a state-only criminal background check is $5. Payment must be a check or money order only. Checks should be made out to “BCI.” The state criminal background check will be mailed to the individual.

For any questions, please call the Office of Attorney General at 401-274-4400 and ask for BCI.