State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
4 Howard Avenue Cranston, RI 02920
(401) 274-4400 - TDD (401) 453-0410

Peter F. Neronha, Attorney General

HEALTH CLUB REGISTRATION

A non-refundable registration fee of one hundred dollars ($100.00) must be
submitted with this registration form. The registration is valid for one year

- from the date of registration approval and may be annually renewed by filing
the registration form and paying a renewal fee of fifty dollars ($50.00).

1(A). Name of Health Club:

1(B). Trade Name (s) (if different from 1(A):

1(C). List the complete street address or addresses of all health club
locations in the State of Rhode Island*:

1(D). How long has the health club operated at the location(s) listed in 1(C)?

*Any change in a physical location within Rhode Island must be made in writing to
the Department of Attorney General within ten (10) days of the change.

FORM HC-01




2. Names and residential addresses of health club officers, directors and
majority stockholders**: '

3. Parent Company Name and Address (if any):

4. State the square footage for each Health Club location identified in -
Question 1(C):

5. Describe all services provided by the health club:

**Principals who leave a health club will remain subject to the provisions of R.L
Gen. Laws §5-50-1, et seq. until such time that notice of non-association is given
to the Department of Attorney General. Any replacement principal shall file with
the Department of Attorney General a notice which shall be made in the form of an
updated registration application.




- 6.

10.

State the type of membership plans offered and their cost. Also state the
cost of a joining fee or an initiation fee, if any.

* Submit a copy of all contracts for health club services by attaching them to

this registration form. ‘

Provide complete disclosure of any pénding or completed litigation or any
complaint filed with any govemmental authority against the health club or
any of its officers or directors within the last three (3) years.

Submit proof of bonding as required by R.I. Gen. Laws §5-50-3 by
attaching it to this registration form. This requirement shall not apply to
any owner or operator in continuous operation in the same location for
five (8) years prior to January 1, 1998.

If not applicable, please indicate so.

Submit the appropriate certification or documentation from the municipality
(or municipalities) where the health club operates that the facility has not
been cited as being in violation of compliance with applicable zoning and
planning regulations, fire regulations and building codes. This
certification/documentation must be dated within sixty (60) days of the .
application due date. Please attach it to this form. The Department of
Attorney General may waive this requirement for an applicant if such codes
or regulations do not exist in the municipality.




11.  State the business name and locations of any health club in which any of the

principals, identified in Question (2), may have been associated in the last
three (3) years.

Name

Signature

Date

Whenever prior to expiration of an annual registration, there is a material change in
the registration information, you shall, within ten (10) days, file an addendum
updating the information. The Department may refuse to grant or renew a
registration or may suspend or revoke the registration of any health club which
engages in any conduct prohibited by Chapter 50, Title 5 or does not comply with
the statutory requirements set forth in Rhode Island General Laws §§5-50-3

and 5-50-7.




State of Rbode Igland and Probidenre Plantations

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL
150 South Main Street * Providence, RI 02903
(401) 274-4400 - TDD (401) 453-0410

Peter F. Neronha, Attorney General

AUTOMATED EXTERNAL DEFIBRILLATOR
HEALTH CLUB CERTIFICATION FORM

The Rhode Island General Law entltled “Health Clubs” has recently been amended to include the
following sectlon

§ 5-50-12 Defibrillators. — (a) Every health club registered with the department of attorney general
‘pursuant to this chapter shall have at least one automated external defibrillator (AED) on the premises.
The AED will at all times be deployed in a manner in which best provides accessibility to staff, members
and guests. At least one employee per shift must be properly trained by the American Heart Association
or comparable state recognized agency in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and AED, and must be on
duty during hours of operation.

(b) Any facility that’has a health club on premises that currently complies with all parts within
this act shall be exempted from duplication.

(c) A cause of action against a health club or its employees, in connection with the use or nonuse
of an AED, shall not exist except in cases where the health club has failed to purchase an AED as
required under this act and in cases of willful or wanton negligence.

(d) A knowing or willful violation of this section by a health club may result in suspension or
revocation of its registration.

(e) Any health ¢lub which operates a facility on a key pass basis with no attending employees at

anytime is exempt from the trained employee on duty requirement set forth in subsection (a)
herein of this section.

This act shall take effect on January 1, 2005

L , acknowledge that I am the business owner of tlie health club d/b/a

and have been duly notifies by the
Department of Attorney General of the aforementioned legislative change.

I hereby certify that there is at least one (q) workmg AED on the premises of the health club,

. that it will at all times be deployed in a manner
which best p10v1des accessnblllty to the staff and guests, and that during hours of operation at least one

member of my. staff will be properly trained in accordance to the law in both CPR and AED use.

I further understand that a violation of this mandate may result in the suspension or revocation of my
health club registration.

Print Name Signature ' Date






